Double Dating

On my most cynical of days, Internet dating feels like working on an assembly line. I pick one up, inspect him, put him down, and then another guy rolls along. Punch the clock. Repeat.

If you improve efficiency on the assembly line, will you get a better product? If you’re going out on dates with multiple people at once, why not schedule two dates in one night?

I’ll admit that once I scheduled two afternoon dates back-to-back at beer gardens a few blocks from each other. After politely excusing myself, the first guy berated me for not wanting to spend the whole afternoon with him since he’d come all the way from San Francisco.

iConsu on reddit offers the following, “There really isn’t any advice that is specific to back-to-back dates. Just have fun and try to make sure you leave time to make it to both of them. When I have back-to-back dates and am looking to close, I will usually space my dates 5-6 hours apart. This leaves time for the date, sex, and a shower before the next one.” Gross. Obviously, don’t schedule the dates in the same place and don’t tell them you’re doing it.

I’m thinking of some potential cons. I remember everything. I got good grades in (Bumblefuck) high school by memorizing the entire chapter of a textbook. If you don’t remember things, you’d probably screw up back-to-back dates. You might end up liking one guy more than you normally would just because your date with him was so much better than the one you had two hours before. You have to be careful mixing your alcohol if you go to a wine bar and drink wine with one and then drink whiskey at a saloon with the other. Finally, this double dating shall likely lead to increased cynicism and faster burn out.

On the other hand, why is speed dating OK?  I wouldn’t care if I found out that someone had scheduled another date before or after me. If you’re dating expectations are just to meet and talk with someone new, why not double up? I can’t decide.

Double Dating

One thought on “Double Dating

Leave a Reply

